Skip to content

Stories

January 28, 2011

Sometimes you feel like you’re just putting this out there – a big, bleeding part of yourself – without knowing, really, what anyone thinks about it.

Sometimes it feels like you’re the only one. That others are fine. Strong. Just living their lives.

Oh, sure. You know they’re proud of you. They think you’re brave. But they don’t really get it. They don’t have issues. At least that’s the story you tell yourself.

And then you get an email. From someone you know and love and think of as one of the strongest people you’ve met. From someone who appears to just live, and love, and laugh without – once in a while – needing something else stay propped up. An email that says, I struggle too, and because of you and what you’re doing here I am going to ask for help.

Stories.

Whether they’re big or small, whether we keep them to ourselves or tell others, whether we need help and seek it, or don’t, we all have stories.

[Much love and support to my dear friend. You know who you are.]

4 Comments leave one →
  1. KTW permalink
    February 10, 2011 10:07 am

    Robin, You are brave, beautiful & fabulous. Thank you for sharing yourselves so honestly. I’m proud to say you are my friend & I’m inspired by your courage. x0x0x0

  2. Pam permalink
    February 5, 2011 8:34 pm

    How very eloquent. And good for you for being willing to put yourself “out there” to hep others.

  3. January 29, 2011 5:41 am

    i love this. you most definitely are not alone. and you ARE helping people each day by being real and being honest and asking for help!

    Going through PPD brought me sooo much closer to my sister (who has struggled w/ depression for years), my mom (likewise), and many friends who I never knew struggled with similar feelings of inadequacy.

  4. Melliemom permalink
    January 28, 2011 11:35 pm

    I hadn’t read your latest when I emailed you so I guess that goes to show you just how not alone we are.
    XO

Leave a Reply

